• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

AudioQuest Dragonfly Cobalt Review (Portable Headphone Adapter)

mansr

Major Contributor
I need to correct myself, at the end we were both wrong, I made a bigger mistake though: there is indeed a high-speed USB version of PIC32, that‘s the MZ
You're right, I had overlooked that one.

cruiser

Hello,
New member here. I'm so glad I found this thread and website.

I'm not an audiophile by any means but my background is production techno music. Recently, I bought the DF Cobalt to use on my IOS devices as well as my macbook and I pair it with my Sony MDR-7506 headphones. After reading and hearing all the rave reviews, I was expecting this DAC to provide a substantial upgrade to the sound quality I was normally hearing. I cannot though in any way tell the difference between MP3's and higher-res audio when the Cobalt is connect. This after having spent several hours putting it through tests using Qobuz as well as Apple's new lossless music and using the highest resolution audio I could find.

The Sony's are good for what they are, not the best but good enough quality that if the Cobalt was able to provide better audio quality, the Sony's should reveal it. I also connected this to my mid-tier studio monitors thinking maybe they would be a better fit and allow me to hear more detail. Still though no noticeable difference.

So my question is: What small DAC would people here recommend for portable use? Just want to use for casual use.

On another note: I based my buying decision on Darko's youtube review of the Cobalt. I wanted to go back to add a comment but all comments for this review have been turned off. Interesting. Suffice to say, I've unsubscribed to his channel.

Cheers!