• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Is it possible that the sound from the new Hiby R6 is much better than it's R3 Saber sibling?

Destination: Moon

Hi, I'm new to DAPs and the digital side of audiophile equipment. I'm blown away by the sound of the little R3 saber. I'm using it as a source to drive my amp and speakers.
I'm not happy with some of its quirks. So I bought an R5 Saber but was surprised to find that it didn't sound as good. The design was nice and the device seemed stable, but I returned it due to the SQ.

So now I'm looking at the New R6.... It's 900 after taxes etc. vs 200 for the little but wonderful R3.....Could the R6 possibly bring that much of an improvement in SQ? I'm asking because it's a huge jump and although I can afford it, I have little experience in this realm and I don't like returning stuff for subjective reasons. I'd love to hear from more experienced listeners here, especially if your familiar with the Hiby R3 Pro models

Thanks!

Last edited:

Dopaminer

If you plan to use a DAP as a source for an external amp (as I do), then the new R6 has one crucial advantage: balanced line out. You'll notice it has two 4.4 ports; one is PO for headphones; the other is LO, bypassing the internal amplifiers.

This is the main reason I am interested in the new R6.

OP
D

If you plan to use a DAP as a source for an external amp (as I do), then the new R6 has one crucial advantage: balanced line out. You'll notice it has two 4.4 ports; one is PO for headphones; the other is LO, bypassing the internal amplifiers.

This is the main reason I am interested in the new R6.