• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

AIYIMA A07 TPA3255 Review (Amplifier)

eardiggler

Thanks Jeff - that makes me feel better. I'm not experienced enough to know how much current it would take to eventually do damage to a speaker coil. While I expect the 'pop' on some older 70's and 80's gear it's annoying to hear it on a newer amplifier like this. I will be interested to hear if others have the same issue on their A08.

Last edited:

violetwhisper

Members who bought the unit, could you tell me the idle power draw of the amplifier? I am looking to replace an old chunky A/B unit that uses 50W just for idling. That's not ideal in a room with no AC when summer is coming ;-)

peanuts

what frequency is it at? (or is it DC?) i was thinking of buying two of these for my dsp setup, connected straight to compression driver. hmmm

eardiggler

what frequency is it at? (or is it DC?) i was thinking of buying two of these for my dsp setup, connected straight to compression driver. hmmm

It's set to DC Mv. Take in mind that the average spike is only -232. It settles in at -6.2Mv. It's very possible I received a unit with a defective capacitor. As ToKu mentioned another person with this unit in Japan does not have the 'pop' issue at all.

reverbel

Forum Donor
Aiyima is currently selling two A07 versions. One comes with the NE5532 op amp. The other, a bit more expensive, comes with the LM4562NA op amp.

Many people say that replacing the NE5532 op amp by the LM4562NA makes the sound better, so I am inclined to go for the LM4562NA version. However, my understanding is that the version Amir tested and recommended is the other one.

@amirm: Does your recommendation also apply to the LM4562NA version?