• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Review and Measurements of Topping D10 DAC

nuko

Was going to get the D30, but then saw the D10. Which is the better DAC between the two in terms of sound quality/measurements?

Scott Hollinger

Good day, just joined the forum. I appreciate your efforts in testing equipment and not get caught up in the "audio flavors" the equipment does or does not display. I have been in radio programming and production for decades. I have no technical background though I have always worked with old school Electronic Engineers and have learned to trust their experience and judgment as well when it comes to electronic equipment. Having said that I am interested in the Topping 10 offered on the current Massdrop. I intend on using a Linux Mint computer as my playout and am wondering if the D10 will work with Linux? I've assumed it will or can be made to work but searched through the forum and couldn't find a definitive answer. I've read the D30 does right out of the box, so if the D10 doesn't, then I'll spring for the D30. Thanks!

dc655321

Major Contributor
I intend on using a Linux Mint computer as my playout and am wondering if the D10 will work with Linux?

Can't speak for the D10, but I have a Topping NX4 DSD and use it with my laptop running Ubuntu.
I have had no issues with Linux and any of the USB DACs I've used (NX4, SMSL iDEA, DF Black).

Scott Hollinger

Great, thanks for your responses. I am currently using a Tascam US-122 as my ADC/DAC. It is capable but "long in the tooth" In the studios where I work doing voice production we are using the Focusrite 2i2 for basic voice work and have also used the Yellowtec PUC2 boxes as well. Both great little economical ADC's.

rvsixer