• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Tube gear opinions

• Thread starter Deleted member 31473
  • Start date

H-713

The cheapest tubes in my SET amp are the 845 radio transmission tubes. They should obviously cost the most, but since they're radio transmission tubes...

I have been eyeing the Russian GM70 tubes for some real SET hifi.

I'm not aware of the 845 ever seeing very much use in radio transmitters- they were mostly used in really big audio amps from that era. If I remember right (and it's been a while since I studied the 845 datasheet), the 845 is extremely low mu and has internal capacitances that make it somewhat useless for transmitting. I know the 211 did see a reasonable amount of amateur service early on- my tube history is a little rusty, but I want to say this would have been the 1920s or 1930s.

Also, any competent engineer should know that you *never* want to depend on tube or transistor parameters for RIAA equalization. With tube gear, it will vary as tubes are inevitably replaced (though tube replacement is generally not a frequent thing), and with transistors it makes the device a royal PITA to manufacture.

Helicopter

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm not aware of the 845 ever seeing very much use in radio transmitters- they were mostly used in really big audio amps from that era. If I remember right (and it's been a while since I studied the 845 datasheet), the 845 is extremely low mu and has internal capacitances that make it somewhat useless for transmitting. I know the 211 did see a reasonable amount of amateur service early on- my tube history is a little rusty, but I want to say this would have been the 1920s or 1930s.