• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Anybody producing/mixingmusic here? Need advice on Headphones/Interface/Setup...

knkkskknk

Hey, I'm basically a bedroom producer who wants to up his mixing/mastering game, and I realize the most important part is properly hearing what you're doing.

I was following tutorials, and they were doing mini compression / EQ dips, and I literally could not follow along cause I couldn't hear what the changes were doing lol

I have an Audient EVO4 (99$ USB interface) and AKG K240 headphones. I want to upgrade my interface, my headphones, and get a headphone amp.

I actually bought a Burson Conductor V2+ the other day, it was such a great deal I snatched it up (like 1/8th of retail price) hopefully it works lol. It's a HQ Dac/Amp/Preamp. Excited to get it but not sure what I'm doing really. No idea how to use it, like do I connect it to my interface or what?

Anyway, I'm thinking of upgrading my setup like I said. I basically narrowed it down to these:
Headphones: AKG K712, Slate VSX
Interface: Babyface PRO FS, Audient ID22
Headphone amp: Grace M902, Burson Conductor V2+ (soon to have)

I heard Grace HP amps are neutral and clean, not sure about the burson I'm getting, if it colors the sound I'll sell it and buy a neutral amp.

Basically I want to use headphones mainly for mixing, and I heard everyone say amazing things about Slate VSX, except they're not very detailed, but they're flat, and imitate speakers/rooms excellently, people said they've got professional mixes out of them, so I'm basically planning on buying those.