• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SEAS Thor MTM loudspeaker kit - some questions about wiring for 2-way config

Music1969

Major Contributor
Hi all

I'm interesting in buying the SEAS Thor MTM loudspeaker kit and doing some DIY DSP crossover stuff for fun / learning

http://www.seas.no/index.php?option...as-diy-kits&catid=66:seas-diy-kits&Itemid=250

Speaker measurements: http://www.seas.no/images/stories/diykits/thor/audioXpress_Thor_Review.pdf

Woofer spec: http://www.seas.no/index.php?option...08s-w18e001&catid=49:excel-woofers&Itemid=359

I'm a noob so please forgive my silly questions here.

Amp is a Denon AVR-4308. I already use this AVR for another 2-way DSP DIY active setup, so the idea of how to setup DSP crossover etc, I'm ok with.

But it's wiring for the MTM config that's new to me.

My understanding (please correct me if I'm wrong with anything):

This SEAS Thor kit a 2-way MTM design with crossover at 2.5kHz, so that is probably a good starting point for me (measurements) playing with DSP crossover.

The individual woofer spec sheet shows a minimum impedance of approx 6 ohms.

Woofer spec: http://www.seas.no/index.php?option...08s-w18e001&catid=49:excel-woofers&Itemid=359

On wiring the pair of woofers in MTM config, for active setup I want to keep this as a 2-way config, so I would wire both of the woofers together in series , correct?

If each woofer individually has minimum 6 ohms impedance then the pair of them wired in series would mean the amp sees this as 12 ohm (minimum) load ? Is that correct ?

Is wiring this pair of woofers for MTM config as simple as the below crappy quick sketch i made? The pink wire is the series connection between woofers

MTM wiring.png