• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Brand new to forum, looking for guidance setting up raspberry pi 4 as dedicated music server, the best player to use, no streaming.

OP
E

Evang

Nah, just malware.
Yeah balena etcher worked great and the instructions on the volumio website were excellent. I got it all set up but haven't been able to get any sound from the pi running volumio or to get the pi running volumio to play files off the hard drive. May be a power problem, do people here use a powered USB hub to run their hard drive with rpi? May be a formatting problem, I'm new to setting up a hard drive from scratch, I'll try a different drive, reformatting this drive and getting a powered hub, though I'd rather not add another power source into the mix, this is getting kinda clumsy. Also when setting up volumio the only option for output was hdmi, this seemed wrong to me, I was planning on going from the pi's USB to my smsl Sanskrit input, but so far no sound that way even with volumio radio so somethings wrong, pi recognizes the songs on the drive but cannot play them properly, again no sound.

Can anyone on here who runs a pi from a hard drive to a dac to a stereo tell me how they are set up including cables, connectors and which specific ports they are using from the pi. So far aside from the fan problem it seams like a mini pc run headless would be a much more functional way to go, and would offer all the benefits of being able to access the web and using different apps.