• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Mayday- What streamer/player for Qobuz (rookie)

hugo86e

Hello everyone,

I'm still a rookie regarding hi-fi and there is a point that I still don't understand: how to best wirelessly stream/cast Qobuz 24 bits hi-res files from the ios native app to my analog stereo integrated amp. FYI, I don't have a network NAS with flac files or anything- I only use Qobuz or Tidal.

First, I've seen that airplay is limited to 16/44.1 cd quality, so I thought that the right move was to use the toslink output of a Chromecast Audio with a nice reviewed DAC such as the topping E30 (btw, a big thanks to amirm's work and reviews- very interesting, I've learned a lot) to stream up to 24/92 files. However, I can read everywhere that one has to use another player such as Roon/Audirvana/Plex/etc instead of the Qobuz native app. First thing is, I just don't understand why?! Why is it so much better? As good as can be those players, their ios app are just remote apps and I don't want to have a desktop computer ON everytime I want to stream qobuz.

So then, is there any solution here?

I think I've read people are using raspberry pi 4 USB output to DAC and with something called ropieee xl but i'm not sure to understand.. Would I be able to use qobuz native app with that?

Thanks in advance for your help and sorry for the rookie questions :)

Sprint

Forum Donor
@hugo86e I am also a big Qobuz user. I was searching for a streamer as well. The options I had recommended by ASR members was

1. Raspberry PI4 + Picoreplayer + LMS combo with Topping D10s (USB SPIDF/TOSLINK splitter and a DAC with RCA outs).
2. Bluesound Node 2i
3. Yamaha WXC-50