• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Subwoofer Correction via MiniDSP DDRC24 DIRAC

Sprint

Forum Donor
Hi all,

I am currently using Genelec active monitors 8340 LCR & 8330 in 5.2 set up with 2 SVS 12" sb-12nsd subs run by Yamaha AVR. I am using GLM software in Genelecs for room correction.

A few days ago, I started setting up MiniDSP DDRC24 with Dirac Live for subwoofer correction. Since I am still learning on the measurements world, could you please help me with following questions:

1. Attached is the DIRAC correction picture. How do you interpret the target curve given by DIRAC?. Do you see any improvements that can be made? After using DIRAC, I noticed that the bass intensity went down in comparison to not using DIRAC but on the cons the bass was more refined/uniform across frequencies. One can hear that. Looking forward to help from experts who can read/ interpret measurements.

2. Attached is another picture of DDRC24 I am still confused how to know if DIRAC is on from the buttons. It is confusing. Am I correct by saying that Dirac is in use if the button is grey - "DIRAC LIVE OFF" and Dirac is not in use if the button is pink - "Dirac Live On"?