• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Applying the Objective/Measurement Approach to Reverse Engineer the Ultimate Listening Experience

danielmiessler

Forum Donor
I am new to ASR and have two questions—one specific and one general.
  1. What quality aspects, if any, within a digital or analog signal, determine the quality of experienced soundstage?
  2. Has anyone (mostly to @amirm) taken the cherished components of listening (clarity, stereo image, speaker transparency, soundstage, imaging, etc.) and looked for the objective, measurable variables within digital/analog signals to see what affects them?
In other words, we all (even objectivists) recognize that there are good and bad audio experiences. Even more, horrible vs. brilliant experiences. You can have a spiritual experience while being secular! You don’t need to believe in the supernatural to appreciate art and beauty.

So.

If we know that these “heavenly“ audio experiences exist in the world, and we’re unwilling to become wine-snob-subjectivists, what are the specific scientific variables that create those effects?
  • How much is signal?
  • How much is the speaker?
  • How much is the room?
  • If we know that most people want a flat frequency response, is there a similar “best soundstage” or “best stereo image” or “most transparent speaker image” that we can use science/measurement to move towards?
TL;DR: How can we, as objectivists, reverse-engineer the ideal listening experience and break it into variables we can measure and therefore optimize?

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor