• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Adcom GFA-535 ii listening review or: Never meet your heroes

77Bacon

So, this is is sort of a listening review followed by a couple questions because I’m new to mid-fi gear. If you can help out with the questions I’d appreciate it.

I recently picked up a GFA-535ii off the Bay and did some critical listening for about 4 hours last night. Until last night, I was planning to complete it with a GFP-565 or maybe a GFP-710 but now I don’t think so.

My setup is what for most of you is likely a 2nd or 3rd system. Its in an apartment I live in during the week due to a long-term work assignment away from home. It consists of a Onkyo A-9010 integrated amp, a vintage Sansui TU-717 tuner and a pair of Revel M105 speakers that I’ve been running for about 4 months, so I’m sure they are broken in. Music source is provided by an iPhone and the little Apple D/A converter dongle running on a long RCA patch cord to the RCA inputs on the 9010. Music is all stuff you can listen to in an apartment! Current favorite is vocals and piano stuff.

WOQIu4f.jpg

The Revels are set at ear level and I have found they make a really good sound stage. They sound the best pulled out from the back wall about 2-3 feet and seem to open up more the further out they are. I have a mini DSP that I wanted to incorporate into this setup, so the plan was to take advantage of the processor loops on the vintage Adcom stuff and go that way.