• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SMSL M500 - Owners' Thread

newtoSMSL

Hi Guys, I just received my SMSL M500 today. I set the output to headphone which connects to my DT 990 Pro. Also set the input to be USB and have tried connecting M500 to my iphone and iMAC Pro using USB respectively, and streaming Apple Music. M500 screen shows headphone volume, USB connection, PCM and 44.1kHZ, but no sound coming out of my DT 990 Pro headphone. I'm new to this, don't know what I have done incorrectly or missed any thing. Can someone please help me?

miguelx74

Hi!
Which player do you use? If you use a player you have to set the audio output nel player.
In Windows , check the audio output correct.

newtoSMSL

Hi Miguel, I turn off M500 and turned it back on, then everything just worked out perfectly!

Last edited:

mon2

Has anyone here from North America with HW 1.2 SW 1.5 sent their unit back to China to be reflashed? How long did it take and how much was it?

I was really dumb and tried updating the firmware when I knew there were issues and I am beyond the 1 year warranty so SMSL wants me to send it back to their factory on my own dollar.

Hello @Crohnic and all. Sorry for this late follow up but have been quite busy with assorted projects. We ended up purchasing a bricked SMSL M500 unit out of Australia and did manage to disassemble the unit for a review. Our unit was quite tight to remove the wedged stacked circuit boards but others have reported that the same pair of boards slid out fine. Perhaps just bad luck that almost needed soap to slide the boards out.