• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Buckeye Amps: New US based Hypex multichannel amplifier builder, line-up announcement!

elmn8r

Hi all. I ordered a 4ch NC502 and 4ch NC252 both in 17" cases from Buckeye a few weeks back. I mentioned earlier in the thread that I intended to rack mount them and was ask to document what I did to do that. So....

Let me start by saying I'm not great at documenting a process and even worse at taking pictures. And, I'm more of a shade tree mechanic than I am an engineer or machinist. I wasn't looking for perfection and I'm not looking to enter my solution in a beauty contest. With that being said...

This was done with basic hand tools with maybe the exception of a tool & die set to tap the holes for the machine screws and a drill press. The drill press will make your life easier but isn't required.

First, I have my equipment mounted in a communications equipment rack in a closet. From inside vertical rail to inside vertical rail is about 17 1/4", thus I asked for the 17" case. You need to check the dimensions of your rack and adjust accordingly.

The material I used to make the rack rails is 1/8"x3"x3ft weldable flat steel stock from a big box store. These are about $15ea.

Here is a pic of the ident sticker on the one I used.
IMG_1558.jpg

I went to a machine/fabrication shop and had them bend both ends of the stock 90 degrees with 7/8" inside measurement. That means from the end of the stock to the 90 degree bend on the inside of the bend is 7/8". This will make the "ears"of the rail. Cost me $15 to have two pieces bent(remember I'm doing two amps).