• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help with DAC & Amplifier pairings. (Drop, SMSL, Schiit, Topping, THX,...)

TOOdamnFRANK

I’m fairly new to this whole world of home audio / audiophile products / headphones (less than 1.5 years or so) and my first real / external Amp & DAC stack was a Schiit Modi & Magni 3+. Since then I have moved on and purchased a Drop THX 789 with a Drop Grace SDAC that I did not care for. Right now I have a S.M.S.L. SU-9 DAC on the way after reading the reviews of that unit on this website (also what lead me to the Drop THX). Anyway, I was wondering if the SMSL SU-9 DAC will be a good pairing with my Drop THX 789 or if I should switch to the SMSL SP400 amplifier instead? I am running this setup from my gaming laptop. Right now My concern with something like the SP400 is that it’s apparently not very loud for how much power it claims to have according to the comments section under the review on this forum. And secondly, is it even worth the price tag when I already have a brand new 789? Would I notice a major difference between the two? And is the SU-9 a good pairing with the 789? I mostly use the combo for PC gaming and my laptop streaming music. 65% gaming 35% music (of that music I tend to listen to Spotify and Tidal both an equal amount of the time because while Tidal usual sounds better, Spotify is still a lot easier to use and has more of the music I love.)