• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Hello from Metro Detroit

Ge0

Hello all, my name is George (Ge0). I am new to this forum as of today. I stumbled across this site a few times in recent months to read some excellent equipment reviews. So, I decided to join you. Perhaps I can even contribute.

Now a little about me. I'm in my early 50's. I have been an audiophile since I was 10. Audio sparked my interest in electronics. So, that's what I studied. I have a masters degree in Electrical Engineering from Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo Michigan. I moved to metro Detroit after finishing college. I've been working in automotive electronics development ever since.

I have two hobbies. One is cycling (which I won't get into here). The other of course is audio (both home and car). I've always been a DIY'er. I've built my own electronics and loudspeakers for as long as I can remember. As a matter of fact, I'm working on a new set of speakers now. I'm in the process of selecting midrange and tweeters:
PXL_20210105_155705514 (1).jpg

All drivers are run active via dedicated DSP and amplification channels per driver. This is what I consider fun :)

I belong to a local audio group called the Southeastern Michigan Woofer and Tweeter Marching Society (SMWTMS). Although I have to admit I haven't been to a meeting in years. Well to be exact, since I started having children :). Why did I mention this? Well, I suspect there are a few of our members here. That, and to give you an idea of who some of my mentors were: Dr. Earl Geddes, Bern Muller, the late David Clark, the late Arnold Krueger, and the late Tom Nousaine.