• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Please help a Beginner out (Speakers) .

dualimas

Hello everyone, I'm very new to the HiFi scene and would greatly appreciate any help.
After reading many online reviews, then reading reviews for the online reviewer's^^ I figured this would be the best place to get some honest opinions combined with knowledge and experience about speakers, both of which I'm desperately lacking.

I am currently assembling a 5.1 system, though I would like to point out that I'll mainly be listening to music (with just two speakers) and the focus of the speakers should be playing music. I live in a medium sized room though my speakers will be standing on one side, while the other is filled with lots of "uneven" materials such as furniture, space therefore is somewhat an issue.
As for speakers I would like to add that size and looks are very important to me to properly integrate the speakers into my room. If possible I'd prefer wooden speakers that don't tower much higher than ca. 30cm high, as for price, I am open to many suggestions, my limit would be at around ca. 650-700€/p, of course cheaper is also possible .
Speakers I have researched myself and that i would like to hear your opinions about are the
1. Dali Oberon 1
2. B&W 607 S2 Anniversary Edition
3. Elac Debut Reference DBR62 .

Reasons for these are the existing front speakers of the same set, however I would appreciate any speaker suggestions or help in general.
I hope you don't mind the long text and thank you very much.

Wes

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
did you check the list of speaker measurements for those?

also describe the room...

OP
D

dualimas