• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Calibration tool for Headphone + Hearing capability

Silvian

Hello everybody,

I've been dreaming for such a tool for many years and now it is part of the Peace EQ interface.
Calibration tool.JPG

Has anyone tried it yet? If you use a Windows PC as a music source, give it a go.
I was part of the development and so I used it the most. If you need more info than what's on my write up, ask:
https://www.beautifulaudio.biz/peace-equalizer-calibration-tool

Cheers

Dreyfus

Thank you for sharing!
Loudness equalizations get way to little love in the community. I hope that will change with your implementation in Peace. :)

May I ask what the corrected curve does apply? Is it a rough compensation for higher listening levels, resulting in less treble and bass emphasis compared to the "boosted" hearing threshold curve? Comparing the graphs it looks like you added the 100 Phon curve. Wouldn't it be better to choose the average of 80 Phon instead?

I had good success with David Griesinger's loudness equalization procedure in the past, tuning my headphones to my average listening level (skipping the HRTF part). He recommends the use of narrow band noise instead of pure sine tones. To me that makes perfect sense since some headphones come with a very wobbly response which can introduce sensible errors unless you significantly increase the number of bands. This gets particularly critical the higher you move up in frequency where all sorts of narrow band intefereneces appear (depending on the individual anatomy in correlation with the characteristics of the headphone).