• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Allo Volt+ D Amplifier Review

This was my amplifier. Very pleasantly surprised by the results, which I expect will build hype for the TPA325*-based amplifier that is supposedly coming out of Allo later this year. I would also like to see a dashboard with the "stock" 19V power supply if possible, but I don't remember if I sent Amir the power supply along with the amp.

Two "complaints" I have are with the physical size and the attenuator knob. The amplifier is definitely bigger than it looks, IIRC about a foot wide. The knob is quite stiff, small, and blocked on three sides by the case. I've never used a stepped attenuator before so maybe the stiffness is normal, but a bigger and longer knob would be a big usability win.
Another thing is the lack of a power button. I use an on/off electric plug but it gives a little buzz to the sound

tomtoo

Major Contributor
This was my amplifier. Very pleasantly surprised by the results, which I expect will build hype for the TPA325*-based amplifier that is supposedly coming out of Allo later this year. I would also like to see a dashboard with the "stock" 19V power supply if possible, but I don't remember if I sent Amir the power supply along with the amp.

Two "complaints" I have are with the physical size and the attenuator knob. The amplifier is definitely bigger than it looks, IIRC about a foot wide. The knob is quite stiff, small, and blocked on three sides by the case. I've never used a stepped attenuator before so maybe the stiffness is normal, but a bigger and longer knob would be a big usability win.