• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

robin79

Disclaimer: I'm a newbie and not an expert in electronics at all, I just read a lot here and I'm a curious guy... so please, don't blast me if I write silly things :)

The game is to imagine an ideal-yet-minimal configuration (in electronics terms) for streaming digital stereo.
On the basis of my readings, this is my hypothetical chain:

Source
A network streamer with two IIS output ports via HDMI connectors.
Each port delivers only one channel of the stereo, thus: left ch. IIS port and right ch. IIS port.
The two ports share the same high quality master clock (IIS is in master mode).
Each port is connected to an active speaker via an HDMI cable.

Active full-range speakers (described as one)
The speaker offers an IIS input via HDMI connector.
Is full range (no need for sub), say a three or four way system (not relevant, but likely).
Each woofer/twitter of the speaker has a dedicated true-digital amplifier (like DirectDigital® from NAD or similar).
There is no actual cross-over, each true-digital amp receive its proper audio band via DSP processing and is optimized for its load and band.
The digital signal of each amp goes through an optional dedicated DRC (Digital Room Coorection) phase before the amplification step and the necessary smoothing to enter the analogue domain as late as possible.

How far is this from ideal in your opinion?
Who wanna play? :)

NTK

Major Contributor
Forum Donor