• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

JDS Labs Atom DAC Review

Tks

Major Contributor
Hi, long time lurker here. Decided to make an account cause I have several questions and if anyone would be kind enough to help me out. Kind of an audio-noob here!

1. I noticed that a few are disappointed at the lack of Toslink and Coaxial. As I am new to this hobby, I am just wondering what these 2 connection types are for and if they have advantages over a USB implementation.(Like why are people upset at these 2 types of missing inputs?)

2. Given the lack of Toslink and Coaxial, will I be limited in options in terms of connectivity to another device?

Just curious as I purchased the atom DAC yesterday and am half regretting not going with the schiit stack or waiting for the liquid spark DAC to be released.

Toslink is a fiber-optic connection, usually found on TV's, Computers, or Game Consoles these days. One advantage it has over all other connections, is it galvanically isolates the DAC from the source that's sending the signal. Since there is no conducting metal material between the DAC and the computer for instance, there's no risk of transferring a whole slue artifacts like noise a computer or source may be suffering from. It also helps with issues pertaining to avoiding ground-loops and such.

Coaxial is just a another digital interface that even I myself don't know why still exists. Seems to be prevailent in CD players and quite a bit older devices. Advantages over USB? None that I can imagine tbh, and lately (and actually historically) has been observed to produce the most jitter out of any connections. I don't know the appeal of this interface barring those older devices that have it.