• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Avantgarde

TankTop

I have no experience or measurements but I have stood in the same room as several pair.

pole: if you had the money would you and are they cool even if they aren’t that great?

1) would you if you could?

2) if they didn’t sound as sexy as they look would you anyway?

Tks

Major Contributor
Never heard of 'em. Got any links or images?

MZKM

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Never heard of 'em. Got any links or images?
1590807502776.jpeg

Heard this model as an expo, I spent very little time in that room though and have no recollection how it sounded.

For a more conservative design and price, they have this:
1590807594720.jpeg

Looking at the Stereophile measurements of one (102dB sensitivity!), the crossover integration is really poor, but John Atkinson states he had to measure at 1/2 the recommended listening distance, so that may be why, but besides that the on-axis was not impressive, but the off-axis was surprisingly well behaved albeit very narrow and having the mentioned crossover issue.

Last edited:

JeffS7444

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
At one time I was obsessed with the idea of getting Avantgarde Duos but think my older self would be less impressed by what may be a none-too-smooth frequency response (circa 1990s). The speakers I listened to were partly driven by Art Audio PX25 single ended triode amplifier. But having built quite a few SETs have since grown far less interested in such inefficient things, and would now be far more impressed by a system which delivered fantastic sound while only consuming a few watts of power!

AudioJester

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor