• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Let's talk CD Players!

pirxel

- Pioneer DV-525 (Analog Out) Used primarily as a DVD movie player. I don't recall CD playback quality.

I'd literally wet my pants if you gave me your opinion on that Pioneer as a CD player. I must say I'm a novice with CD players, since my experience apart from this recent revival is basically portable walkmans at full blast in ****** headphones during my teenage years(those...were the days?). I mean, I used the optical out, so as a transport it shouldn't make any difference, but who am I to know :p
Again, I tested the analog out (to my loxjie p20 to my audioquest nightowls and sennheisers hd6xx) against the digital out (optical to my smsl m500 to the loxjie and so on) and the dac on the smsl had the edge for me.
TBH the pioneer dv525 is huge in my desk, especially compared to the smsl dac and the loxjie amp, but it does match my cassette tape deck, so I'm ok with it for now, but I do wonder sometimes if I wouldn't be a happier man in the long run with one of those tiny cute pro-ject cd box S2:facepalm:

Last edited:

pirxel

BTW guys, the idea I got from that pro-ject player came for this very nice video around the subject, in case you didn't see it.
I'd be curious to hear what you have to say about it. Especially the point he makes about the difference between a cd quality stream and a cd played (on that gorgeous hegel cd player) being bigger than between a cd quality stream and high-res quality file.
NOT DEAD YET: CD playback w/ Hegel, PS Audio and Pro-Ject

Last edited:

WHQL