• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Affordable Accuracy Monitor Review

laudio

Very nice. One of these days I will smooth out my JBL L100s with a Murphy designed crossover.

wwenze

Major Contributor
I am still learning here but have always wondered with these cheaper speakers - if the crossover is always such a compromise why not go active with something like a minidsp and some cheap class D amps? Would that not be a better way to solve crossover errors than with passive components and crossover redesign?
I get here that the tweeter replacement also made a huge difference.

That's why speakers with DSPs are popping up these days. LSR305 is one of the more famous ones.

Beave

Major Contributor
I am saddened that I didn’t pull the trigger on any of the Dennis Murphy speakers when he was still making them. I wonder how the BMR and my favorite, Philharmonic 3s measure.

I think the BMR can be bought as a kit. What about the 3’s @Dennis Murphy, are those available as a kit?

Dennis has said on another forum that the Phil 3s are not and won't be available as a kit, because the cabinet is just too complex to build (it being a transmission line design, the inside of the woofer's cabinet is quite complex).

wwenze

Major Contributor
Dennis improved the response in the frequency domain. How did his crossover mods affect the response in the temporal domain?

Slow decay in waterfall is caused by stored energy in certain resonant frequencies. This includes electrical / magnetic i.e. LC circuit is a resonator. Energy needs to be dissipated e.g. damping resistor.

The drivers also store energy that's why we dissipate them better when impedance seen by driver is low. Probably not the case here but maybe just in case.