• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Review and Measurements of New JDS Labs Atom Headphone Amp

Timbo2

I have an Atom and I upgraded from Topping D10 to a D50s primarily for the ability to be able to attenuate volume. (Surprising few here I couldn't tell a sonic difference despite the much better specs.)

I don't have an issue with channel balance over most range of the volume pot, but I needed it for IEMs. Not so much for balance but for useful volume range even at 1x gain.

If you are a purist you could put the volume at 100% and use a DAC to fully control the volume., but I find I much prefer spinning a knob to stepping through a range of digital volume.

Question as I'm new to using dac/amps in general but how does the low gain and high gain work on this amp, do I leave it in low as long as the volume gets loud enough or do I leave it on high and just turn it up to whatever is listenable? I'm using the sennheiser 58x and the he4xx.

Last edited:

tankas

Question as I'm new to using dac/amps in general but how does the low gain and high gain work on this amp, do I leave it in low as long as the volume gets loud enough...
Yes, in low gain as long as there is enough power to drive your headphones. Please see the first post of this thread:

"This is in low gain by the way. High gain was not quite as good."

Yes, in low gain as long as there is enough power to drive your headphones. Please see the first post of this thread:

"This is in low gain by the way. High gain was not quite as good."