• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Battle of S/PDIF vs USB: which is better?

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor
Satire my friend.....hence the "Z".....

(Full disclosure: degree in Applied Physics, worked on signal processing for x-ray laser research projects in upper division lab work)

Oops, sorry, hard to tell on the monitor. I'm a hairy-knuckled engineer, though been around a few physicists (most famous probably Feinstein, only very briefly, what a character!) Designed a few VCSEL drivers and dealt with some optical laser systems but never got very deep into them.

Back on-topic, more or less, regarding the previous jitter comment: The original AES spec allowed a lot of jitter (like 40-50 ns pp) but I thought it was knocked down to 1 ns or 0.1 ns when consumer DACs started using the recovered clock (unlike many pro systems). Now DACs typically decouple their clock from the datastream but I am not sure the AES (S/PDIF, TOSLINK) jitter spec -- should know, spaced it, long day (back hurts from shoveling and it's affecting my brain tonight).

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
Oops, sorry, hard to tell on the monitor. I'm a hairy-knuckled engineer, though been around a few physicists (most famous probably Feinstein, only very briefly, what a character!) Designed a few VCSEL drivers and dealt with some optical laser systems but never got very deep into them.