• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Advice for 2 channel TV/theatre/music system?

Robbo99999

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm currently exploring upgrading my sound system for my TV/Movie/Music listening experience. I currently have an old Sony HiFi system (MHC-S3) from 2001 hooked up via Optical to my TV, and I would say I'm generally happy with it in terms of it being an upgrade from built-in TV speakers - I've been running it like this since about 2004 with various TV's through the years, ha! But I figure there's better sound to be had, and I've recently upgraded my sound chain for my headphones (as well as EQ'ing them to the Harman curve using Oratory1990 data) with the help of this excellent site, so I figured I'd explore some options with the good people here...I don't know if I'm actually gonna buy anything new right now...but I enjoy researching the options and learning about it, and buying something as an upgrade could be on the cards.

For reference this is the Sony MHC-S3 that I currently have hooked up to my TV (not my video by the way and also the sound is distorted in this video, but you can see the system I have at least):

What are my best options for an upgrade and how much difference can I expect in sound quality and immersion? I don't really use my HiFi much for music listening anymore, mainly TV/movie, as I use my PC and headphones for music listening, but it would be nice to have a decent setup that could also be used for music listening, although I'd probably have to work out how best to get music to that system because my desktop PC is about 3.5m away from my TV on the same wall.

Cahudson42

Major Contributor