• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DSD playback

beanxinh

Hi,
I'm a newbie and I'm looking for a cheap small portable DAC/AMP that can playback DSD but I'm quite confuse because on the specs of a lot of DAC/AMP only show thing like 24/192 Khz (like this one https://vi.aliexpress.com/item/3293...earchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_) and mention nothing about DSD playback capacity.
So If I buy those device can I playback DSD ? I hear that on unsupported devices DSD file will be convert on the fly and suffer a reduction in quality.
Thank.

Veri

Master Contributor
If it's not mentioned there's a big chance it's not supported. In any case most software players can transcode it to PCM which any DAC can understand..

Last edited:
OP
B

beanxinh

majingotan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi,
I'm a newbie and I'm looking for a cheap small portable DAC/AMP that can playback DSD but I'm quite confuse because on the specs of a lot of DAC/AMP only show thing like 24/192 Khz (like this one https://vi.aliexpress.com/item/3293...earchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_) and mention nothing about DSD playback capacity.
So If I buy those device can I playback DSD ? I hear that on unsupported devices DSD file will be convert on the fly and suffer a reduction in quality.
Thank.

The DAC on that website clearly shows DSD64 supported BTW
Untitled2.png

majingotan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
BTW, the music player that you're using should detect whether your DAC supports DSD, and make sure that there's no conversion to PCM by selecting DSD over PCM output:

Capture.PNG
Untitled2.png

Last edited:

majingotan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
PC

OP
B

beanxinh