• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

UpTone Audio EtherREGEN Switch Review

Wafflesocks

I'm not a scientist, or an engineer... just a lowely carpenter

But my understanding is every packet in ethernet has a sort of checksum.... so it's either correct or corrupt....

The proof is on the person making the assertion.... but how can a packeted digital signal be better or worse, without being corrupt. (Asking for a friend)

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor
merely taking careful measurements isn't science

science requires a test of a hypothesis using an experiment

Amazingly enough, engineers do have training in science, and IC design requires hypotheses tested by experiments. I was even pre-med and went through all the life sciences and philosophy stuff before deciding I liked engineering better. But I don't remember Popper or Kuhn except having to wade through them in some class in the primordial past so clearly not a scientist, whatever the heck that means. Obviously somebody better than an engineer. OTOH, while I understand much more about electricity than my electrician, he does a much better job of wiring the house, and I don't like mucking with my cars any more but rather let a mechanic do it, so IMO specialization happens at all levels of education.

Thomas savage

Grand Contributor
The Watchman
Forum Donor
I'm not a scientist, or an engineer... just a lowely carpenter

But my understanding is every packet in ethernet has a sort of checksum.... so it's either correct or corrupt....

The proof is on the person making the assertion.... but how can a packeted digital signal be better or worse, without being corrupt. (Asking for a friend)