• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Sabaj, Shanling, etc. Small DAC Power (M0, Da3)

mikeysmusic

Hey everyone!

Is the Sabaj Da3's Amp/DAC much better than the Shanling M0's?

I'm anticipating this response, "Those two aren't comparable!" I'm brand new to this wonderful world of audio, so I won't be sad if I hear that

I know the M0 has a DAC/Amp built in (in addition to its other incredible features such as it being a DAP), and I know the Da3 is purely an Amp/DAC. If the M0's power and quality compares to the Da3, I might as well invest in the M0, yes?

Thanks!

raistlin65

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Has Amir measured the Shanling? Without measurements to compare, there's really no way to know.

OP
M

mikeysmusic

I gotcha. I think in one of the threads a few months ago he or someone suggested the same; how can we tag him in this post?

raistlin65

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I gotcha. I think in one of the threads a few months ago he or someone suggested the same; how can we tag him in this post?

If you buy the M0 and offer to loan it to Amir, he might measure it for you. Most of what he is measuring is loaned by ASR members.

He does seem to be busy with measuring speakers right now. So if you did do that, you might not plan on seeing the M0 for a long time.

I can tell you that I have the Shanling M2X and really enjoy the sound of it and find the UI fairly user-friendly. I don't have any experience with the M0.

Yuno

I have m0, good thing about this dap is that it has Sabre ES9218P which is mobile use specific chip combining DAC and AMP. Basically it's very unlikely to mess up implementation of this chip. To me it sounds fine.