• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Massdrop 789 vs. Monoprice 887 vs. SMSL SP200: THX amp measurement comparison

b1lf

BTW, checked the RCA input as well, the channels were correct for those too.

I’ll check again tonight with my SMSL SU-8. Perhaps it’s my pre-outs on my Mayflower ARC that are wonky - I’ve never used them before.

Celty

Celty

Jesus ****ing christ this is amazing.

Thanks to all who helped guide me here! And sorry for cluttering up this thread with my questions / build update.
No need to be sorry, sharing here is what the forum is for :)

Inkey31

Forum Donor
I believe MediumRare was asking for a comparison of the headphone amp section of the DX7 Pro (not the DX7s) vs. the Monoprice 887. Both are top performers from a measurement perspective, although as Amir says in his conclusion about the DX7 Pro: "The headphone is a step below state-of-the-art from measurement point of view." The upside is you also get the DAC with the DX7 Pro. Perhaps the major knock against DX7 Pro (depending on your headphones) is the somewhat high output impedance of the 1/4 jack at 6.2 Ω.

Up to you, but my advice is don't hold your breath. That's the point of doing this type of comparison: the measurements show these are both SOTA headphone amps. In a blind level-matched A/B test the highly likely outcome is that it would be impossible for you to tell the difference. So considering the prices are the same between the two you can decide on features, warranty, customer service, etc.

Sorry, I misunderstood, thank you.

jaraheel

Hello everyone,