• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Building a usb headphone amp R2R

NickK

Hi,
I’m looking to build a usb pcm-r2r ladder headphone amp. 32bit/192kHz linear pcm input (OSX provides transcoding). My background university degree in parallel and distributed systems, along with embedded formal systems, GPU Astro image processing deconvolution using DFT, and I for the last 6 months been involved in quantum computing in a bank (using QFFT). I almost bought a TacT Millenium 20 odd years ago..
However hardware itself I’m a beginner..

My initial thinking design used;
LT3045 (six in parallel) providing 2.5A at 3.3v fed by toroidal with choke full wave rectifier plus a ground circuit rectifier etc
Xmos xu208 usb to i2s (no spdif)
NVE IL715 to decouple i2s and i2c
Artix a7 fpga ddr for fifo and reclocking the i2s stream
CPLD to manage each channel resistor ladder output as a 24bit ladder
Output from the ladder via an active low pass Sallen-Key Bessel filter with RC final low pass filter to ensure top end. The active filter will use TL074 op amps (better characteristics for PWM) plus DC detect and short circuit protection.
AD 9516 as a masterclock for all devices

As I have researched more I now understand a little more about the odd order harmonics and the relationship to square waves; plus the general idea to minimise the them using small transitions, either 100% or 0% duty, centre sample clocking, plus pre-processing.
I understand the need for doubling tolerance for each ladder bit added and the must low noise power and grounds.