• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Just came back from my first audio show and oh boy

GrimSurfer

Major Contributor
I remember one room, guy selling power conditioners or whatnot. He made a claim that it’s better to run all your components off 1 outlet socket rather than multiple dedicated lines. He said he used to have like 5 dedicated lines, then his friend told him to just get a cheap power strip and use that, and he said it sounded better, so that’s how he got into the business. I’m no electrical engineer, so no clue if that’s true.

This can certainly reduce the risk of a ground loop. Provided the gear's electrical needs don't overtax the circuit, it's probably a good thing.

No comment on power conditioners...

Mtbf

Anyway, after the conversation I thought of a really good response to those kind of people. It's very simple – I can enjoy the same amount as you while spending the fraction of the money. So who is better off, really? ;)
Reminds me of a friend who once told me that all cars are the same, because they all have four wheels and a steering wheel. Lucky him.

Julf

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Reminds me of a friend who once told me that all cars are the same, because they all have four wheels and a steering wheel. Lucky him.

Reminds me of a friend that was convinced putting a magnet in the fuel tank made his car go much faster.

JohnYang1997

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Audio Company
My first audio show was like: almost all rooms sound like shit. Too loud too harsh. Only 1 2 rooms are listenable.

scott wurcer

Major Contributor
Audio Luminary
Technical Expert