• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie here, looking for input for upgrading my current 2-channel system

ktm125

Hi All:

I’ve been reading the threads here for suggestions in improving my 2 channel system.
My only music source is streaming and using a PS4 to access YouTube, Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc.
I have a TV connected to the system.

Current setup
PC
Emotiva UMC-200 preamp/processor
Emotiva RPA-2 amp
Legacy Audio Focus speakers
PS Audio Power Plant Premier Power Regenerator
TV

New DAC
Matrix Audio X-SABRE Pro seems the best but maybe the Topping or Sabaj would be good enough.
Since I’m only streaming music would it be best to get a DAC that connects to the internet, or run USB from PC to DAC?

Need to output TV audio to DAC.

New PC or upgrades
If PC is required, then what upgrades or new PC is recommended?

New Preamp
Do I need one?
And if so, which one?

New Amp

Benchmark AHB2

Speakers
Budget for new speakers is 10K, but prefer to keep current speakers if they won’t be the weak link.

TV
All the video sources connect to the UMC-200 via HDMI, but since the DACs have no HDMI, I can use the TV as a video input selector.

ScofieldKid

My first thought was a Oppo UDP-205 on the used market... Should work as both a USB-DAC for the PC, and as an Optical-IN for other stuff.
You can run the Oppo without a pre-amp if you want. My second thought was that if you are using a tablet, some of the tablets can see USB dacs, so that can give you a dedicated streaming device using whatever DAC. So like Ipad connected to an RME Adi-2 Dac for a dedicated streaming setup (assuming they are compatible.)

Jim B

Your speakers arn’t the weak link. They still use them in many recording studios.