• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The precedence effekt - very important för the sound enthusiast

Thomas_A

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Here the folks who usually use the phrase "so obvious no need to measure it" also add that "their wife can hear it while she's still in the kitchen". :D

This is a scientifically oriented forum which means for every claim you make you better provide measurement or a link to some research paper making the same claim.

I am a scientist so I know about those discussions since usenet. I have provided measureements that show differences that are well above JNDs.

Krunok

Major Contributor
I am a scientist so I know about those discussions since usenet. I have provided measureements that show differences that are well above JNDs.

You have made those measurements only when I asked you. Those measurements didn't show any significant impact on FR but rather on Topt, so they don't really prove your "back wall" theory. I anyhow don't see a logic why reflections from back wall would be any different than from the wall behind your LP or any other room surface. As I said, it is timing of the arrival that differentiate early reflections from late ones.

Thomas_A

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
You have made those measurements only when I asked you. Those measurements didn't show any significant impact on FR but rather on Topt, so they don't really prove your "back wall" theory. I anyhow don't see a logic why reflections from back wall would be any different than from the wall behind your LP or any other room surface. As I said, it is timing of the arrival that differentiate early reflections from late ones.