• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Has Anyone Here Ever...

GrimSurfer

Major Contributor
... received compensation for blown audio gear covered by a surge protector?

I've never lost gear, but have had surge protectors sacrifice themselves. I don't spend crazy money on these things but do buy brands such as Furman and TrippLite -- brands that cost around $100-200 and advertise loss protection.

So I guess the question is whether anyone ever benefits from these protection guarantees?

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor
Here is APC's US policy: https://www.apc.com/us/en/tools/epp/

I have limited personal experience, and the experiences of coworkers and friends is mixed. One or two were partially compensated for damages after a lot of paperwork and jumping through hoops, but at "blue book" rather than replacement cost (check blue book for a two-year-old top-of-the-line AVR or processor and weep). One took advantage of their data recovery service and got most of the data for his business back; a drive I had that failed when a power surge got through a surge strip was unrecoverable. APC did pay for the service, which is expensive, and their estimated value of the server (I think we got like $2k for a server that was $20k a few years before). Several did not meet all the criteria for coverage, either failing to fill out the warranty form and return in ten days or some other reason (one had his APC surge strip plugged into a 6', 10 AWG with ground extension cable and they said that was clearly not covered).