• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Review and Measurements of Schiit Valhalla 2 Headphone Amp

mshenay

I was using the Audacity software and playing a piano wav file I added even harmonics to it and the sound became worse.
Adding odd harmonics was more terrible.

Well done, rather than try your steak sous vide you boiled it in a plastic baggie...

Non the less apparently the way Tubes amplify is such that harmonics are presented without the same "hardness" or unnatural edge as in how solid state gear reproduces the same harmonics, the idea is that they don't "clip" like transistors do. Again I'm quoting as it's all more or less subjective and I'm not an expert, I've just sharing what was shared with me from quite a few sources.

It isn't just the addition of 2nd order harmonics but how, so again there is no "myth" an if your really curious about "Tubes" the Loxjie P20 is a pretty nice tube amp imo, get it on amazon so you've got a return policy and give it a listen. If you like it great and if your hate it also great, either way you'll have had a chance to hear "tubes" and then some one else will get a great deal on your lightly used in mint condition but now returned P20