• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Differences in DAC's...

buckaboo49

Hello, I am new to Hifi Audio and currently have a Darkvoice tube amp and a SMSL Sanskrit 6th edition dac. I also have a Aune X8 Magic dac. I understand that different dac's can produce a different sound signature. But what about DAC's that have the same chipset such as the SMSL Sanskrit 6th versus the Topping D30 which use the same DAC chip? Can it be assumed that the sound signature will be the same or similar? I am going broke trying different brands of DAC's with different chipsets... I am feeding all of this through a Chromecast Audio dongle 3.5mm to toslink cable into the Sanskrit 6th then outputting to the Darkvoice tube amp. I love the sound but at what point do you stop buying stuff hoping to get that last ounce of perfection?

solderdude

Grand Contributor
DACs do not need to sound the same when a DAC manufacturer feels like using a slow filter (based on their reasoning) and another brand chooses to use a fast linear phase filter.
In that case audible differences can exist due to treble roll-off in the audible band for instance.
Or when the analog section of DAC A has a different output voltage than that of DAC B when all else is the same.
In such a case they measure the same BUT the one with the (slightly) higher output voltage will always be considered 'fuller' sounding on direct comparison where one does not level match.

Shadrach

Addicted to Fun and Learning