• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

This audio cable business is getting out of hand...

SIY

Grand Contributor
Technical Expert

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
I dont want to believe it and I wont. I'm blaming it on my mood. So ill just leave these speaker cables in and forget about it. Ill change back to the old 4mm2 twin copper cables in a month if i remember and listen what happens. But im asking myself "is the treble louder around the 4-6k region" with these cables.
I'm not a tech expert but I do have questions running around in my head.
First was how do you know the new cable is "high capacitance"? Manufacturer spec or self measured? Just curious.
Besides being approx a 12 gauge wire, do you know the specs of your old wire?
Capacitance should be near irrelevant in a low impedance line like speakers.
What is the resistance of the two wires, any answer to a audible difference would most likely be there.

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
What would that do to the sound?
Make sound transparent by......well not being transparent. So it must be undoing something that something does to the sound on the way. Reverse filterfication of bad filtering you know.

I always like showing this when the subject comes up. MIT digital cable with their patented network inside the RCA plug. Consists of a 1 ohm metal film resistor. Patented technology I remind you.

1560448521913.png

Last edited:

Soniclife

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Make sound transparent by......well not being transparent. So it must be undoing something that something does to the sound on the way. Reverse filterfication of bad filtering you know.