• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie looking for best pair of headphones in £100-£150 range

Frugert

Sorry if this isn't the right place to post this as I'm new here. I'm a newbie who's only ever used cheap gaming headsets and am looking for a good upgrade is sound quality and comfort.

Budget - My budget is strict as I can't go above £150 and £100 is my minimum.

Source - I'll be plugging this directly into my PC motherboard (b450 gaming pro carbon) one of the better motherboard audio solutions.

How will the gear be used - I'm using it primarily for indoor use. Sharing a room with someone else too. Closed back is preferred due to this. These headphones will also be used for fps gaming primarily.

Preferred tonal balance - something which has good bass which is clear and prominent however, not overpowering with accurate mids and highs.

Music genre - I tend to listen to movie soundtracks which tend to be intense or sombre. My preferred examples are game of thrones and westworld.

Past gear experience - well to be honest I've only ever used "gaming" headsets, with the best pair I've used being the hyperx cloud stinger. They've gotten the job done, but I'm looking for something more.

What aspect I'm most looking to improve on - everything basically, although sound and comfort are my number 1.

Bonus - I'm not able to spend extra money on nodding the headset with different earpads or amps/dacs at the time being.

M00ndancer

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Cooler Master MH751 is apparently quite good value