• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC AMP Headphones / recommendation medium portability

uzapuca

Hi guys,
Very interesting forum indeed. I am new to this and there is so many options to choose from. I have SR80 Grado and Shure Se125 IEMs as my headphones. Portability and easy setup would be a nice since i go to work to different offices and i can carry around.

I heard good things of Schiit, FiiO, Topping and JD Labs

A) Fulla 2 Shiit - U$D 99.-
Pro:
small, good price, all in one, many ports.
Cons:
Some people says it does some Quality Control issues (knob, hissing) and the sound is just so, so. Nothing gonna blow your mind. U$D 99.-

B) FiiO E10K or K3 - between U$D 75 and 110.-
Pro:
Good all around system. Small and portable
Cons:
Some hissing noise.

C) O2 + sdac dac/amp / U$D 150.-
Pro:
Good quality sound
Cons:
More pricey than Fulla 2. Acording to Z reviews it is a mess to hook up. I don´t know if that right tough.

Topping supposed to be very good too but cannot find DAC / AMP together at reasonable price.

What would you suggest? Maybe other piece or setup?

Thanks for your help!

thms

D) JDS Lab Atom $99
Pro:
* measures better than Schiiit Fulla, Fiio , O2. More powerful. Can power most demanding cans.
* low output impedance for your IEMs - No need for iFi IEMatch adapter or anything, no static noise.
Cons: Lack of inputs but none of those you list have inputs.

As for DAC, JDS Ol Dac should be fine, as should SDAC be.

maxxevv

Major Contributor