• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Will this DAC/AMP stack be a very noticable upgrade compared to only using the MacBook audiojack?

ManilaPirate

Forgive me if I'm asking something quite obvious, but I am new to this and would greatly appreciate your advice.

I recently bought a pair of Sennheiser HD600, and it's the first time I'm listening to music with such good headphones. I wanted to try this out since my 2021 MacBook Pro apparently supports high-impedance headphones straight from its audiojack.

To me, everything sounds great — but then again, I have no prior experience other than "regular" headphones and AirPods. I've been reading up on DACs and AMPs, and wanted to seek your advice here. The supply of DAC/AMP units are quite limited in my country, but I found a couple of Topping products. The stack I've been looking at is their A30 Pro and D30 Pro.

How much more would you guess I could get out of my HD600 headphones by using a Topping A30 Pro + D30 Pro stack, compared to simply listening directly through the high-impedance jack of my computer?

On another note, I feel like I've been tumbling down the rabbit hole ever since purchasing these headphones. Aside from streaming Lossless audio, I got the Soundsource app and added a Headphone EQ profile for HD600 by Oratory1990. If you have more suggestions for enhancing the listening experience, I'd be happy to hear it.

PS. This forum was like finding a treausre. Thank you guys.

Veri

Master Contributor