• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SMSL D400ES DAC Review

Rate this DAC:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 12 5.1%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 11 4.7%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 58 24.8%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 153 65.4%

• Total voters

Sokel

Master Contributor
I've been using M500 Mk3 for many months (I bought it when it was launched last year).. and am quite happy with its quality. Its performance is of course well beyond my hearing capabilities. It also came with very high performing headphone amp (imho).

Looking at measurements of newer and much pricier products from SMSL (also from Topping), I'm having hard time in understanding price-performance relationship. What might be benefits of choosing those products over their lower (yet high performing) offerings like m500 mk3?
One example is that some people will happily pay for looks (not the case here) or that premium feeling some devices have.
Would also pay built quality (inside and out) and proved sourcing of reliable components (kind of insurance for the devices hooked to it).
Also warranty,ease of every interaction may be required,etc.

Tangband

Major Contributor
Excellent performance, but at that price, my money and trust go to RME.
Yes - SMSL has yet to prove longtherm reability .
Very good performance on this dac.:)
Personally, for this price I also expect DLNA/Wi-Fi support , AirPlay and ROON, and a digital output with a sota volume control.
No need for bluetooth.

A Minidsp flex is cheaper and can do much more things like active crossovers and peq/eq.

Last edited:

anphex

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor