• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Toppong D50 Ouput impedance?!

Viper Necklampy

I was opting to buy Jds labs atom, Topping d50 atom and Audeze El8 closed headphones. I now checked the topping d50 output impedance and it seems to be 100ohm, i should be warried? Because the jds labs atom is 0,7 ohms, which could be just perfectly with EL8 Closed 30ohms.. Does D50 really is 100ohm, probably causing changing in tonality? I'm new to these gears, i could misunderstood something maybe.. Thanks :)

flipflop

Addicted to Fun and Learning
You can more or less disregard DAC output impedance as it has no influence on your headphones. It's only relevant for amp pairing and even then, it's a non-issue as far as I'm concerned.
A 0.7 amp output impedance would be fine with all 30 ohms headphones. EL-8 are planars, though, so you can plug them into any source regardless of output impedance and they would be unaffected.
EDIT: I was looking at EL-8 open. The closed version have an impedance swing between 2 and 3 kHz. They're a no-go with high output impedance sources.

D

Deleted member 2944

I was opting to buy Jds labs atom, Topping d50 atom and Audeze El8 closed headphones. I now checked the topping d50 output impedance and it seems to be 100ohm, i should be warried? Because the jds labs atom is 0,7 ohms, which could be just perfectly with EL8 Closed 30ohms.. Does D50 really is 100ohm, probably causing changing in tonality? I'm new to these gears, i could misunderstood something maybe.. Thanks :)
You're comparing apples and oranges. The D50 is not a headphone amplifier. The JDS Atom is.

Dave.

OP
V

Viper Necklampy