• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need some help picking a new set of Studio Monitors!

xxcholo

Hello!

Posted a similar thread in the Audio Interface department where I'm at a budget at max 1900$~ for an Audio Interface
and I'm in the same situation regarding Studio Monitors

My budget on Studio Monitors for now is around 2000$~ +/- for a pair.
Most people on Gearspace are VERY Neumann bais and this is almost the only option I have gotten as a suggestion.
I want to get ATC25 or 45 in the future, for for the next couple of years I have to make do with these

What am I going to do?
I'm a musician, I produce my own music (Pop/Edm/Lofi/hiphop/trap) in that order. And I sing my own vocals on my songs and play guitar on them aswell, rest Is programmed in Ableton.
And I want to start selling my beats and uploading finished songs to my Youtube page

My room is 4x4 meter and is treated pretty well and ready for a set of monitors.

So I have a couple of questions:
1) My gut instict tells me to avoid Sub and try to get a higher quality monitors that reaches low enough, but is that really enough and do you really need a sub?
2 ) Is a 3way speaker always better than a 2way speaker for Mastering your tracks?

What do I want from my speakers?
I guess simply that for the mentioned budget I want as honest speakers as possible. They do not have to sound exiting, transparant and honest is more important.
That they translate well to other devices/other listeners is the absolute most important part

Here Is what I have been looking at so far (But I'm open to more suggestions)

Dynaudio LYD-48 (3-Way)
Neumann 120 + Sub
Adam A7V
Eve Aduio 208 and 305
Focal Shape Twin
Genelec 8040
Quested S7R Mk3

Well yeah thats about It!