• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

ifi Zen Phono Review (phono stage)

Rate this phono stage:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 14 9.5%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 66 44.6%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther

Votes: 54 36.5%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 14 9.5%

• Total voters

sx70nk

Schiit Mani vs Zen Phono

Just to preempt my comment, I am a big fan of the site and trust Amir's measurements 100% - I am also no expert on what any of these measurements ACTUALLY mean. I just get the sense that testing is done objectively by someone extremely knowledgeable who does not try to sell me anything, and I take comfort in that.

Here is my own purely anecdotal observation regarding noise, after replacing the Mani with the Zen Phono two days ago. Amir's test may be pointing to other types of noise than what I am about to say, but the noise I am reporting on was very clearly audible: With the Mani and the volume turned up half way (and before playing the record), there was always an audible hiss coming from my speakers (or my headphones, when using the headphone port of my integrated amp, the Peachtree Nova 300). That noise was only there when playing records (& of course not using the built-in phono stage), otherwise with any digital signal fed into my pre-amp, I could crank up the volume to max and the speakers remained 100% silent. That noise is gone now, after switching in the Zen Phono pre-amp and using the exact same RCA cables (not the balanced port) that were used before. No idea why, just wanted to share this.

TOR