• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

EQ in ROON guidance

Womaz

21AB73B1-93B8-4A17-8AAE-58BA3AEE9579.png

Ok so as you can see I am a total novice with this . This is my very basic attempt to have a short term fix to my current room issues
in time I will look to do something on a more permanent basis.
I am trying to fix a bit of brightness and a boomy bass . Can I improve things further ?

Joachim Herbert

Forum Donor
What is this based on?

Purité Audio

Master Contributor
Industry Insider
Barrowmaster
Forum Donor
Yes you need to acoustically measure first, REW and a microphone.
Keith

OP
Womaz

Womaz

What is this based on?
Hmm not a lot really.
I read a little on EQ on the Roon forum from what I remember. I vaguely recall seeeing a chart about the impact of changing some EQ settings
I know its a crude attempt but it has improved things. Its definitely not as bright but I have definitely lost some of the bass impact.

GDK

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Hmm not a lot really.
I read a little on EQ on the Roon forum from what I remember. I vaguely recall seeeing a chart about the impact of changing some EQ settings
I know its a crude attempt but it has improved things. Its definitely not as bright but I have definitely lost some of the bass impact.
This is a good guide, but you need some form of calibrated measurement mic, like a UMIK-1.

OP
Womaz

Womaz

Yes you need to acoustically measure first, REW and a microphone.
Keith
In the longer term I will adress the issues in a more permanent way, this is just a short term fix until I know how my Room will be decortated and furnished etc.

OP
Womaz

Womaz

This is a good guide, but you need some form of calibrated measurement mic, like a UMIK-1.