• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

E1DA Cosmos APU - Teardown and personal thoughts and measurements

pma

Major Contributor
Your audio buffer looks nice! Before purchasing Cosmos APU, I made a simple imput buffer using an OP AMP (Analog Devices AD797). I have adopted the noninverting configuration of the OP AMP, and its impedance is enough high for the DAC. However, I could not lower its noise level as Cosmos APU's. Unfortunately, I am a software engineer, not a professional circuit designer. :D
AD797 is an excellent opamp, still one of the best ones. However, it may be prone to oscillations. Looking at the noise floor modulation in your plot, I would say it was the case. You know, it is hard to find anything with lower noise than AD797, even nowadays. Kudos to Scott Wurcer.

Reactions: oal
OP
trl

trl

Major Contributor
King of Mods
There are many situations when we need input impedance at least 10kohm and more.
Per https://e1dashz.wixsite.com/index/cosmos-apu I see that input impedances are higher than the E1DA Cosmos ADC:

"Notch: balanced (FDA) up to 10Vrms(active clamp to 15Vpeak)
gain = 20db + 0/6db(switchable), Zi=20/10kohm bal/unbal [...]"

"Preamp: balanced (FDA) up to 3.5Vrms(10oHm to TVS clamped!), gain = 34/60db
Zi=47/23.5k bal/unbal [...]"

Unless I'm wrong here, we're talking about 20 KOhm input impedance @ Notch inputs and 47 KOhm @ Preamp inputs, so I guess we can easily use the APU in front of the ADC without getting worried much if the input impedance affecting the output stage of the DUT.

Herbert

Addicted to Fun and Learning