• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Elac DBR62 amplifier recommendation

Gamebox

Hello,

First off, I’m pretty new to this hobby, so please excuse any missused terms.

I started out with the B&W 606 speakers paired with the Bluesound powernode 2i and the ASW608 (8’’ active subwoofer from B&W). I enjoyed the sound from these for a long time as I came from a 5.1 satellite speaker setup, but after a while I noticed that I got tired of listening to my setup as it was to bright(?).

I burchased the Elac DBR62 after reading about them in this forum, and paired it with the Audiolab 6000a after viewing some youtube video where this pairing was recommended. It was a very nice upgrade from the b&w/powernode setup.

I added two rel tzero after getting them used for a really good price, but it seemed the little extra power they drew, or just the fact that i turned the volume a bit higher overloaded the amp. As I can’t run this setup at the volumes I would like, I need a new amp.

What would be a good pairing for these speakers and the rel’s? Note that I’ve been using the internal dac of the Audiolab so I would need a dac as well if it’s not integrated with the amp.

I live in Norway so it should be available in Europe.

Max budget around 1000 usd/euro

edit, concern from the review:

1663930003215.png

Last edited:

Triliza

Forum Donor
On the DBR62 review topic, people are using all kind of amps (topping PA5, Aiyima A07 etc) to drive them without any problem. Is the Audiolab 6000a able to drive them to your satisfaction without the subs?