• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

AVR with Room EQ and using external DAC

wiredrob

I've been lurking for a couple of weeks now and thought I'd post.

I'm finally upgrading my existing system. I listen to streaming music (classic rock and jazz) at moderate sound levels and some movies. I've been listening to music as an "audiophile-lite" for almost 50 years. I worked as a young engineer in audio before my career split from that path.

Now I have the following 2 ch setup:

Bluesound Node optical out >>> harmon/kardon AVR 645 (oldie but goodie 90 watts/ch @ 8 ohms) >>> Wilson Audio Sophia (4 ohm, bought used for a steal)
Room is 13 x 25 feet
Testing Tidal and Qobuzz (prefer the UI of Tidal connect)

I'm looking to upgrade the AVR and DAC. I value room EQ very much as I perceive a significant improvement using my current AVR.

I recently bought a Denefrip Ares II but I realized that my AVR already converts everything to digital, does DSP, and then converts back to analog. Adding another dac into the loop is not a great idea so I' using my AVR's DAC now instead. FYI I'll be selling the Denafrip Ares II unless I can use it in my new setup in a sensible way.

I'm looking at buying a Denon AVR 3700. I could spend more but don't see anything worth an upgrade. My budget is approx $2k. Willing to entertain alternatives that are an AVR and have Audyssey or Dirac Live.

Now to my question - is there someway to use an external DAC with my AVR so that the path would be:

Bluesound Node >>> Digital in to AVR >>> internal DSP in AVR >>> external DAC (Ares II?) >>> analog out

I don't see how to insert an external DAC into the digital domain (post DSP) that exists inside my AVR.